Lovin’ Me Some Oils!

Lovin’ Me Some Oils!

I feel like Essential Oils get a bad rap, especially since they are lumped into the Multi-Level Marketing bubble (which I also think gets a bad rap, but I know I may be in the minority on that one!). But I am here to tell you that I LOVE essential oils. I’ve been using them regularly for about 5 years, but recently re-upped my collection and it has renewed my sense of wonder and excitement about them! Below I’ve listed a few of my favorite oils and the way I use them. (**Please note, I am not claiming this to be medical advice in any possible way, just information on how I use essential oils.**)

Over time, I’ve accrued a wide assortment of Young Living Essential Oils, and I am intrigued with the science behind them. I’ve seen some of them work wonders for me. But besides that, I just love having them diffusing at home during the day and night. One of the first diffuser blends I made was Purification and Lemon, and it has stuck as one of my favorites and my normal daytime go-tos. At night, I switch it up between Lavender and Cedarwood. I tend to just keep it simple. Plus, some of them are pretty pricy, so I use those ones sparingly for specific issues. The cool thing about those ones, is that three of those (Lavender, Purification, and Lemon) come in the starter kit, so it’s super easy to get started using (and loving!) them. And Cedarwood is such a good price point for how many uses it has.

One of my absolute favorite oils is Dragon Time. I apply this to my lower abdomen when I have cramps and it helps ease them (well, “ease” is putting it lightly. It makes them vanish. No joke.). Add a heating pad and they are gone, so fast. No Tylenol, no Midol, no suffering, just a natural release. So great. It was one of my first big WOW moments with Essential Oils.

Lavender is also in my top oils for the way it helps me sleep. Dealing with depression for so long really messed up my sleep schedule, and I hate taking sleep meds since I feel so beyond groggy the next morning. Lavender doesn’t just help me fall asleep faster, it makes my sleep more peaceful, deeper, and overall better quality with no “hangover” the next morning. If I don’t diffuse it, I rub a couple drops between my palms and smooth it over my pillowcase. So fresh and pure smelling. Another way I use Lavender oil is if I get a sunburn. I mix up a concoction of Coconut Oil, Vitamin E Oil, a few drops of Lavender to help sooth and nourish the skin, and a few drops of Peppermint Essential Oil to provide a light cooling effect. I call it my miracle sunburn healer because this concoction has prevented so much pain and peeling.

So, do you use Essential Oils? Which ones are you favorite? Are you curious about how they might fit in your life? Where to begin? Let me know!

Leave a comment